VW Jetta MKIII/MK3: jetta overheating problem|Volkswagen Bora
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: jetta overheating problem

Default jetta overheating problem

How's it going. I'm a newbie to this forum I am working on my daughters 1997 Jetta GL. My problems started when the timing belt went out. I replaced it but i guess the timing marks were'nt lined up correctly since then it overheats. and runs rough
    I took it to a so called mechanic to have it timed he charged me quite a bit.got it back and it wouldn't start. he forgot to tighten the tensioner.
    if anyone could help with correct timg marks or info i appreciate
    1997 jetta gl 2.0
    new water pump,thermostat, radiator,
    thanks matnjav
    Last edited by matnjav; 08-05-2012 at 04:54 PM. Reason: misspell

AllShoNoGo Gargamelmk2 is on a distinguished road Gargamelmk2's Avatar
    Summerside,Prince Edward island. C-A-N-A-D-A

Default Re: jetta overheating problem

http://jettajunkie.com/vw-jetta/show....0-Timing-belt

If the belt snapped I'm just concerned on internal head damage such as bent valves, timing wont affect heating issues...but since you've change majority of the cooling system I'm going to guess it may be Air locked
    If Nissan motorsports is called Nismo, wouldn't Honda motorsports be called Homo?

Thanks for your reply, so how do i take care of this airlock situation?

AllShoNoGo Gargamelmk2 is on a distinguished road Gargamelmk2's Avatar
    Summerside,Prince Edward island. C-A-N-A-D-A

they are the worst vehicles to rid of an air lock
    With the rad fan unplugged make sure rad is full, run the engine with reservoir cap off and heater on max and the hot setting for a while to get rid of any airlocks in the system.(you will need to top up the bottle during this process) Once the thermostat opens and hot air blows from the vents the air should be out of the system, some jack up the fronts of the cars as well during this process..others will squeeze hoses, buy bleeding kits..ect