Volkswagen Jetta Junkies banner

Noob question about stereo upgrade

6K views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  sonicp9 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello all, I'm new to JJ and new to being a valid driver again. I just purchased a 2014 Jetta SE w the 1.8T. i'm a little bummed that it didn't come standard w Bluetooth audio and all the fun stuff that is standard in many cars now.

That being said I want to upgrade the stereo to have the following features: Bluetooth audio, handsfree for phone calls (ideally phonebook download option), front USB port (sadly missing from my new ride)[/B]

Additional features could include: touch screen, navigation, DVD video.

Basically I just don't know enough to know what to purchase, what will fit (Dual DIN?) and what unit will have what I need. ANY help would be greatly appreciated. I've scoured a few sites that claim to be able to have a "wizard" that will tell you what components will fit, but they don't seem to work right. Sorry for such a noob question but I simply don't know.

#2 ·
Hi there, I was bummed too. I also have a '14 SE. I'm currently in the process of upgrading to an RNS315 radio that will give me NAV and BT along with satellite radio (which I already have). I'll be detailing the steps on here. The RNS315 isn't cheap, but I like that its OEM. There are many aftermarket units that will do what you are asking for for less.

#3 ·
Yeah I saw your thread earlier. I wish everything looked as good as an oem unit, but the cost is too steep.

After looking at that unit, I'm assuming it's a double Din. I've priced out a couple around <$300 that have touchscreen, DVD, Bluetooth and iPhone control as well as USB ports for charging. Probably going to go that route and find someone to install.

#4 ·
disappointment number 1 should lie in the fact that its not the 2.0 TSI but back to a 1.8T, no idea what VW is doing right now regressing back 2 generations and dropping the straight 5 instead of turboing it. for shame.