VW Jetta MKIV/MK4: Advice for 2005 TDI Purchase? |Volkswagen Bora
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Advice for 2005 TDI Purchase?

Default Advice for 2005 TDI Purchase?

I have the opportunity to purchase a 2005 TDI Wagon in excellent cosmetic condition, single owner, well maintained, for what seems like a very good price (<$4000). I am a newbie when it comes to VW's and diesel to boot, and I am hoping for some advice on what to expect from this model.

It has 120k miles, and the only reported issue is that twice, on very hot days, it lost power going up steep hills and was hard to get into gear (sounds like it got into gear, but was very slow and low powered). Wondering if that is associated with clutch, cam shaft, transmission, or. I also noted a diesel smell in the cabin just after starting when the fan was on but went away (is that normal?).

So, along with those two known issues, I'm wondering what issues to expect. What kind of life (miles) does this car have? What are it's known issues? Which are fixable and which are an ongoing nuisance (hard to diagnose/fix). How expensive will it be to maintain this car? Am I foolish for considering a 12yo Jetta, or is the prognosis positive.

Hoping all you Jetta-ites, particularly those familiar with MKIV and TDI, can offer some advice. I have a few weeks to decide, and the owner is fine with allowing me to take it to a mechanic for checking things out.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer. Peter

Default Re: Advice for 2005 TDI Purchase?

IF the timing belt was never done, stay away from it, and if it was
    it's almost due again at 120,000, 40k more it's due the 2nd time.

Diesel smell in the cabin means there is a fuel leak or exhaust leak, more
    then likely it's exhaust.

Overheating low power is a BIG issue if it's a manual, it has noting to do with the transmission.

Overheating, if a DSG, it will send the car into low power mode, if it gets worse the DSG clutches