VW Jetta MKIV/MK4: How to get aux in to play |Volkswagen Bora
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: How to get aux in to play

  1. #1

    Default How to get aux in to play

    New owner no manual yet sorry for stupid questions.
    I have a 2008 Jetta Wolfsburg 2.0t DSG
    It has satellite radio and an aux input. When I plug my MP3 player into Aux jack how do I get it to play on the stereo I don't see how to switch to aux in?

    Thanks

    Dan

  2. #2

    Default Re: How to get aux in to play

    There should be a "Mode" or "Source" button on your stereo. Push that button a few times until you see the display flash "AUX" at that point you are in AUX mode and can listen to your Ipod.

  3. #3

    Default Re: How to get aux in to play

    Absolutely nothing obvious or I wouldn't have posted the question but thanks for playing.

    There are no aux or mode buttons and I switch to FM, AM, CD, SAT by hitting a dedicated button for each.

    Maybe someone with a newer Jetta can answer.

  4. #4
    Knight of the 3rd Pedal jthommarson is on a distinguished road jthommarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    497

    Default Re: How to get aux in to play

    is your aux port in your armrest?

    try resetting your iPod then plugging it back into the aux port. or push the cd button twice.

    do you have a cd changer?

    plus this should be in the MKV section of the forum.
    "In Nomeni Patri Et Fili Spiritus Sancti."

  5. #5
    Senior Member Jspoolin2001 is on a distinguished road Jspoolin2001's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Northern New York
    Posts
    472

    Default Re: How to get aux in to play

    Iv never even seen one of these cars, is their possibly a tape deck or something that wouldnt play unless specifically started? possibly you put it in one of the existing modes, then just plug in your aux and play it and it overrides whatever mode it is already in.

    Again, just guessing, i have not even the smallest clue.
    2002 Jetta 1.8T

  6. #6

    Default Re: How to get aux in to play

    Sorry for the wrong forum if a mod can move it that's great.

    Yes aux input is in the arm rest. It's not an Ipod issue. I am not 100% sure if I tried hitting the CD button twice or not and will tonight. Maybe I will post a picture of the radio as well.

    Thanks

    Dan
    Quote Originally Posted by jthommarson View Post
    is your aux port in your armrest?

    try resetting your iPod then plugging it back into the aux port. or push the cd button twice.

    do you have a cd changer?

    plus this should be in the MKV section of the forum.

  7. #7

    Default Re: How to get aux in to play


  8. #8
    Knight of the 3rd Pedal jthommarson is on a distinguished road jthommarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    497

    Default Re: How to get aux in to play

    iI know it might not be a iPod issue but I just read from another site (yes Google is your friend) that he had to reset his iPod then plug it in to get his VW to recognize.

    Good luck!
    "In Nomeni Patri Et Fili Spiritus Sancti."

  9. #9

    Default Re: How to get aux in to play

    Good suggestion but not using an Ipod and I have rebooted my phone.


    Quote Originally Posted by jthommarson View Post
    iI know it might not be a iPod issue but I just read from another site (yes Google is your friend) that he had to reset his iPod then plug it in to get his VW to recognize.

    Good luck!

  10. #10

    Default Re: How to get aux in to play

    The answer is ........................

    Hit the CD button twice.

    Thanks for the tips.

    Dan

  11. #11
    Knight of the 3rd Pedal jthommarson is on a distinguished road jthommarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    497

    Default Re: How to get aux in to play

    not to quote myself but.......

    Quote Originally Posted by jthommarson View Post
    is your aux port in your armrest?

    try resetting your iPod then plugging it back into the aux port. or push the cd button twice.

    do you have a cd changer?

    plus this should be in the MKV section of the forum.
    "In Nomeni Patri Et Fili Spiritus Sancti."

  12. #12

    Default Re: How to get aux in to play

    Sorry for not quoting you but yes you were spot on.

  13. #13
    Knight of the 3rd Pedal jthommarson is on a distinguished road jthommarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    497

    Default Re: How to get aux in to play

    "In Nomeni Patri Et Fili Spiritus Sancti."

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Volkswagen Forum Volkswagen Jetta Diminished Value Oregon portland oregon seo oregon accident report Diminished Value total loss Google Places Forum Las Vegas Myths Oregon Civil War privacy policy